The Sockeyed Blog

Ben Johnson's Blog

An Auspicious Start

with 2 comments

This year’s trip began on an auspicious note – I was seated next to a Buddhist monk during my flight to Hong Kong. I must say that he had interesting taste in entertainment on the in-flight system: he watched Angels & Demons and quite a few Bollywood epics. The deities must have noted his presence as the flight was very smooth and we arrived about ½ an hour ahead of schedule. I had my usual Indian vegetarian meals on the flight (glad I picked vegetarian due to His Monkness to my left), and while good, I’m still trying to decide if it’s the best choice for in-flight eating. Perhaps bland and mild might be better. I watched four films on the in-flight system, two of which were very good: Moon and The Hurt Locker. Highly recommended to all. I didn’t sleep; didn’t feel the urge (until the very end), and was trying to stay awake to ensure a solid sleep in Hong Kong.

Everything upon arrival was exactly as expected with the exception of the army of airport staff wearing surgical masks in light of swine flu. It’s an un-nerving welcome to a place. Maybe they could paint smiley mouths on them or something?

The baggage arrived reasonably quickly and I stopped at the 7-11 to top up my Octopus transit card and buy a Pocari Sweat. Leaving the airport I was hit by a wall of chewy air – 25 degrees and 100% humidity, with a light drizzle. The A31 bus was waiting, and before long I was rolling into town. Again, all was familiar.

Kin-yi and Rehman were waiting at the end of the line – Discovery Park. Rehman looked incredibly dapper in tailored shirt and pants, and Kin-yi seemed to be wearing pajamas and had wet hair. It was great to see them – they are always so welcoming and warm. Rehman peeled off to head home, and Kin-yi and I walked to her place at Summit Towers. I wasn’t up for much when I arrived, so I showered and had a drink, then flopped onto the guest bed at around 9pm. I actually managed to sleep through most of the night, getting up at 6am. I sorted through a few things and texted with Kristi (who is hiking around the Skaha Bluffs!), and sat down to email and write this.

I’ll be meeting more of the Kwoks this morning for dim sum: Big Kau Fu, Kau Mo, Ah-Man, Ga Lam and her mom, and maybe a few others. Baht Baht and Ah Leung are up in their ancestral village in China for ancestor worship and maintenance, I believe.

Time to wake up Kin-yi. Ai-ya, it will be a sight to behold. Getting up is a very painful process for her.

Written by sockeyed

October 11, 2009 at 17:06

Posted in Photography, Travel

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yay, you’re blogging this year! So excited to see how the trip unfolds…

    Thor

    October 12, 2009 at 20:35

  2. So you got to see “Moon” after all!

    Good luck in Bangkok – we’ll be following your progress.

    Graham

    October 13, 2009 at 12:37


Leave a Reply

